3 Oct 2014

Top 10 NFL Quarterbacks of All Time

Quarterbacks are as important as having an intelligent, reliable, skillful, and over-the-top brilliant president. They are responsible for carrying their teams to victory and representing the city they are playing for.

Truth be told, they are the cornerstones of every NFL team and without an exceptional one you’re going to have to brace yourself as you watch your team crumble into defeated pieces.

So today, we’re ranking the top 10 NFL quarterbacks of All-Time and why exactly they deserve to be on this list.

10. Otto Graham

Otto Graham


Kicking our list off is Otto Graham who brought his team to the championship game every year between 1946-1955, winning seven of them. Until now, he still holds the record for most yards gained per pass attempt. Think about that, seven (7!) championships and records that still stand today. Incredible.

9. Roger Staubach

Roger Staubach


Now 72, Staubach was hailed a Pro Bowler six times in the span of his 11-year NFL career. He became MVP back in Super Bowl VI and is considered one of the legends of this game. Oh and he was also the first ever player to have won a Heisman Trophy, and a Super Bowl MVP.

8. Steve Young

Steve Young


In his 14 years as a quarterback in the league, he won a record six NFL passer rating titles and has at the time of his retirement had the highest passer rating among quarterback who have had at least 1,500 passing attempts. He also won 2 MVP’s and was named the MVP of Super Bowl XXIX and is one of the few people who are both in the College and Pro Football Hall of Fame.

7. Brett Favre

Brett Favre


An NFL veteran for 20 years, Favre was the only player to be endowed with the AP Most Valuable Player for three straight years. Referred to as “The Gunslinger”, he holds numerous NFL records, including most career touchdown passes and most career victories as a starting quarterback.

6. Dan Marino

Dan Marino


The quarterback for the Dolphins, Marino was considered one of the best QB’s to have ever played in NFL history even though he never won the big one. But, it’s not him that you need to blame as he was putting up numbers and records that were non-existent before he came along – like collecting over 5,000 yards and 48 touchdowns in a season.

5. Peyton Manning

Peyton Manning


A proud owner of 5 MVP awards, Manning is one of the best the league has ever known. He set five records playing as a rookie and really never stopped breaking and setting records ever since. He finally won his lone championship in 2007 thankfully laying to rest the whole “But he doesn’t have a championship” argument. He’s an ultimate professional who works harder than anyone else on and off the field and continues to be successful towards the tail end of his career.

4. John Elway

John Elway


Elway played for the Broncos his entire career and now is the VP of the team. He’s known as one of the most prolific passers in NFL history accumulating 40,000 yards passing and 3,000 rushing. He got his team to five Superbowls and is one of the very few quarterbacks to ever win back-to-back championships.

3. Johnny Unitas

Johnny Unitas


The star of “The Best Game Ever”, Unitas took the Colts 80 yards down the field in 13 plays and led them to victory. Known as The Golden Arm, he ushered in the era of high-profile quarterbacks. He was also the league MVP three times and held the record for consecutive games with a touchdown pass for 52 years easily making him on of the greatest ever.

2. Tom Brady

Tom Brady


Even though he’s still in the league Brady is already regarded as a first-ballot future Hall of Famer. In his 13 years as a starter, he’s been to the Pro Bowl nine times, won the league MVP award twice, and has three championship belts under his name. Seriously, do we really need to say more?

for 4,806 yards and a record 50 touchdowns

1. Joe Montana

Joe Montana


The Comeback Kid engineered 31 come from behind wins which over the course of his career helped him win back to back MVP awards and be named to the Pro Bowl eight times. While all that is impressive, what’s more so is that Joe Cool won the Super Bowl four times and is the only player to win the Super Bowl MVP three times. Yeah, there’s no doubt he deserves to be #1.

Honorable Mentions: Terry Bradshaw, Fran Tarkenton, Drew Brees, Bart Starr, and Sammy Baugh.